The 7 habits of highly effective people: powerful lessons in personal change

  

 

 

Stephen Covey.  Simon & Schuster UK Ltd, London

It’s hard to know where to start with a book as famous as this.  I had to read this book; I mean, literally!  It was mandatory reading prior to starting my MBA course.  I would never have normally read such a book, but I’m very glad I did.

It is the personal development book par excellence.  It is very easy to read and verbalises a lot of intuitive common sense.  But remember, common sense is not common practice!

I think that Stephen’s central theme is that there are certain truthful, absolutes in life.  Adhering to these principles will always lead to satisfaction, whether at work or in ones private life.  For me, it revolutionised the way I interact at work and, for anyone contemplating how to be an effective leader, this book is indispensable.  I have also seen Stephen’s video of how children can utilise the ‘7 Habits’, which is quite astonishing.  However, like many good ideas the principles need to be put into practice (made into habits) in order to work and, of course, that’s the difficult bit!

6 thoughts on “The 7 habits of highly effective people: powerful lessons in personal change

  1. My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different page and thought I might as well check things out.

    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking into your web page again.

  2. Heya great blog! Does running a blog similar
    to this require a large amount of work? I have absolutely
    no expertise in programming but I was hoping to start my
    own blog soon. Anyhow, if you have any suggestions or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I know this is off subject but I just had
    to ask. Thanks!

    • It’s easy to set up a WordPress blog – no need for any particular expertise. First of all, think about ‘why’; what’s the purpose of the blog? Next, the time-consuming issue is content! I use it really to record my thoughts – if anyone reads it, that’s a bonus, so thanks. Don’t let it become a burden. If you really want people to engage then you have to think about targeting an audience. There’s lots of guidance ‘out there’ on how to maximise your reach.

Leave a Reply

